What's New?

SPEEDY Railway Book (English)

GK Notes: Parliament of India for Railway & SSC Exams

GK Notes Parliament of India for Railway & SSC Exams

Parliament of India for Railway & SSC Exams

The Parliament consists of Three parts:

The President.
The Council of States (Rajya Sabha).
The house of the people. (Lok Sabha).
Rajya Sabha:
  • The Rajya Sabha was constituted in the year 1952.
  • This is a permanent house. It is not subjected to dissolution.
  • The fourth scheduled of the Indian Constitution deals with the allocation of seats in the Rajya Sabha to the Union Territories.
  • The seats are allotted to the states in upper house on the basis of population.
  • The maximum strength of Rajya Sabha in 250 members.
  • Out of 250 members 238 are the representatives of the states and Union Territories.
  • These 238 are elected indirectly by the elected members of legislative Assemblies of the concerned states.
  • 1/3rd members retire at the end of every second year.
  • The members are eligible for re-election after completion of the term.
  • The term of member of Rajya Sabha is 64 yrs.
  • 12 members nominated by president (veterans, from Arts, Science, Literature and social services)
  • There is no different between elected and nominated members except only members can participate in election of president.
  • Only 4 members are elected from UTs. (3- from Delhi, 1 from Pondicherry).
  • No seats is reserved for SCs and STs.


  1. A citizen of India.
  2. Not be less than 30 years of age.
  3. Must possess other qualification as prescribed by the Parliament.
  4. The Parliament has laid down additional qualification in the representation of people Act of 1951.
  5. Must be registered as an elector for a parliamentary constituency in the concerned state or UT.
The Presiding Officers:

  • The Vice President is ex-officio chairman of the Rajya Sabha.
  • The Deputy Chairman is elected from among the members of RS by a simple majority of the house.
Special powers of house:
  • A resolution seeking removal of VP can be originated only in Rajya Sabha.
  • Under Article 249, it can make laws on state list subjects, if RS passes a resolution by majority of not less than 2/3rd of the members President & voting and declares that subject is of national interest.
  • It can authorise the parliament to create new All India Services common to both centre & State under Article 312.
Lok Sabha:
  1. Also known as Lower house of the Parliament or house of the people.
  2. Members are directly elected by the people for 5 years.
  3. Lok Sabha can be dissolved by the President.
  4. Total Strength is 552.(530-State, 20-UT, 2-Anglo-Indian community nominated by President).
  5. Certain seats are reserved for SCs and STs according to 87th amendment, 2003.
  6. Duration of Lok Sabha can be extended by max of 1 year at the time during proclamation of nation emergency Article-352.


  1.  must be a citizen of India.
  2. Must have aliened age of 25 years.
  3. Must be registered voter in parliamentary constitution of India.
  4. Must subscribe by an oath administered by election commission as mentioned in 3rd schedule.
Special Powers of LS:
  • Motion of no confidence can only be initiated & passed in Lok Sabha.
  • Money & Financial bill can only be originated in Lok Sabha.
  • RS cannot or amend or reject money bill, it must return the bill to LS within 14 days with or without recommendation.
  • Under Article-352, if the Lok Sabha in a special session passes a resolution to discontinue an or going national Emergency, a nation emergency will be discontinued as per the 44th Amendment, 1978.
Join Your Competitor in FB Groups
Join Your Competitor in Telegram Groups
Study Materials and Important Notifications
Latest Govt. Schemes Monthly PDF Download
Newsletters Form

  • Comments
  • Google+
  • Disqus