What's New?

SPEEDY Railway Book (English)

United Nations Organisations (UNO) - Important Key Points

United Nations Organisations (UNO) - Important Key Points

United Nations Organisations (UNO) - Important Key Points

Details About UNO with Six Principal bodies and Short Tricks

Brief Descriptions-
  • The United Nations Organisations (UNO) isa an association of Sovereign states who have bound themselves by a charter to maintain international peace and security. It is the World's Largest International Organisations. Now it is also known as United Nations Only. 
  • The Nuited Nations charter was signed by the delegates of 50 countries at San Francisco (USA). On 26th June 1945 with the aim to save the coming generations from the scourge of war. 
Key Points - 
  • UN formally came into existence on 24th October 1945. So it is celebrated as the United Nations Day every year throughout the world.
  • The first regular session of the UN was held in London in 1946.
  • Trygve Lie (Belongs to Norway) was elected the first secretary General of the UN.
  • The Headquarters of the UN is situated in Manhattan Island, a suburb of New York (USA).
  • English and French are the two working language of the U.N.
  • New members are admitted to the General Assembly on the recommendations of the Security Council and two thirds of the members of the General Assembly should vote in favour. 
  • There are 6 official languages of the UN. These are as follows - 
Six Official Languages of UN - 
  1. English 
  2. French
  3. Chinese
  4. Russian
  5. Arabic
  6. Spanish

Short Tricks to Remember - FRECA i.e. 
  • F - France
  • R - Russia
  • E - English
  • C - Chinese
  • A - Arabic , 
Six Principal Bodies of United Nations -
  • There are six principal bodies of the United Nations , These are as follows - 
  1. General Assembly 
  2. Security Council
  3. Economic and Social Council
  4. International Court of Justice
  5. Trusteeship Council
  6. Secretariat
1. General Assembly - 
  • It consists of all members states of the UN. Each member nations can send five delegates but each nation has only one vote.
  • The General Assembly meets in regular session beginning in September every year.
2. Security Council - 
  • It is the executive body of the U.N. It consists of total 15 members, out of which 5 are permanent members and the remaining 10 are non-permanent members.
  • China, France, Russia, UK, USA are the permanent members.
  • The non-permanent members are elected by the General Assembly for 2 years from among the member states.
  • The permanent members of the Security have got veto power. Any matter supported by the majority of the members fails to be carried through if negative vote is cast by any of the permanent members.
3. Economic and Social Council - 
  • This bodies or organ of the UN Consists of 54 representatives of the members countries elected by a two third majorities of the General Assembly.
  • Its main function is to achieve international co-operation by solving problems of economic , social , cultural and humanitarians character.
  • 1/3rd of this council is elected every year for the period of 3 years and equal numbers retire annually.
4. International Court of Justice - 
  • It is the principal judicial organ of the U.N.
  • The Headquarters of The International Court of Justice IS SITUATED AT "The Hague (Netherlands)".
  • The court consists of 15 Judges. The judges of the court are elected by the General Assembly along with the security council for a nine year terms.
5. Trusteeship Council - 
  • This Organ consists of 14 Members out of which five are the permanent members of the security council.
  • The function of this organ is to provide for an international trusteeship system to safeguard the interests of inhabitants of terrories which are not yet fully self governing and which may be placed there under by individual agreements.
6. Secretariat - 
  • This organ of the United Nations is the Chief administrative office which coordinated and supervise the activities of the U.N.
  • This secretariat is headed by a Secretary General who is appointed by the General Assembly on the recommendations of the security Council
  • Secretary General of the U.N is elected for five years and eligible for re-election.
You May Also Like:

Join Your Competitor in FB Groups
Join Your Competitor in Telegram Groups
Study Materials and Important Notifications
Latest Govt. Schemes Monthly PDF Download
Newsletters Form

  • Comments
  • Google+
  • Disqus