What's New?

SPEEDY Railway Book (English)

All about Indian Railways - Important Facts and Figures

All about Indian Railways - Important Facts and Figures

All about Indian Railways - Important Facts and Figures

Fully Updated Materials - With Complete Details

For SSC CGL 2017 / Railway Exams
Interesting & Highlighted Quick Facts
  • The first train in India was run between Mumbai and Thane on 16th April 1853.
  • The second train in India was run in 1854 in between Howrah and Hoogly.
  • Indian Railway Board was established in 1905, And the headquarters of Indian Railways is situated in New Delhi.
  • The Indian Railway was nationalised in 1950AD.
  • Indian Railways has the First Position in Asian Nations and Fourth in the world.
  • The first electric train in India is “Deccan Queen”, it was introduced in 1929 in between Mumbai and Pune.
  • Indian Railway is the largest Public sector Enterprises in the country.
  • Indian railway has the second biggest electrified system in the world after Russia.
Updated Lists - Quick Doze 
  • The fastest Train in India is Gatimaan Express, Run between New Delhi to Agra. It takes 105 Minutes to cover 200Km. of journey. (Updated News)
  • The route covered (track length) by Indian Railways is 119,630 km. of total track.
  • The total number of Railways Stations in India is 7216.
  • Mughal Sarai is the largest Railway Yard of Indian Railway.
  • The longest Railway Platform in India is at Gorakhpur (Uttar Pradesh) with a length of 1366.33meter.
  • Maximum Number of Trains from different parts of the country departs from Mumbai.
  • Dhanbad (The Coal Capital of India) is the 2nd Highest Fright Revenue Generating Stations in India, comes after Mumbai. Mumbai Topped in the lists in Frights Revenue Generation.
  • The “Vivek Express (Dibrugarh – Kanyakumari)” is the longest Route train which covers Dibrugarh in Assam, North-East India to Kanyakumari, Tamil Nadu which is the southernmost tip of Mainland India.
  • The second longest train in the country is “Himsagar Express” which runs between Jammu Tawi to Kanyakumari covers a total route of 3726Kilometers and passes through Ten States.
  • The First Metro Rail was introduced on 24th October 1984 between Dumdum and Belgachhia Railway stations in Kolkata (West Bengal). Currently 8 states in India have Metro Rail Facility in the Country.
  • The First Metro train in World started in London (UK).
  • The longest Railway Tunnel in India is Located in Pir Panjal Range of Himalayas in Jammu and Kashmir which is 11km long.
  • Eastern Railway is the Largest and Hi-Tech Railway Zones in India whereas Western Railway is the Busiest Railway Zone. [You will see Northern Zone is longest Railway Zones in Many websites but its 100% Wrong.]
  • First Railway Bridge in India was Dapoorie Viaduct between Mumbai-Thane route
  • First Railway Tunnel in India was –Parsik Tunnel
  • World’s Longest Railway Route is Trans Siberian Railways
  • India’s First Computerized Railway Reservation Started in New Delhi in 1986.
  • Railway Staff Colleges is Located at Barodara (Baroda).

Other Highlighted Facts

Related Facts
Name of Longest Railway Station
Sri Venkatanarasimharajuvariapeta (Tamil Nadu)
Name of Shortest Railway Station
IB (Orissa)
Busiest Railway Stations
First Underground Railway Started in
Kolkata Metro.
First time Toilet facility in Railway Coaches were introduced in
1891 (In First Class)
1907 (Lower Class)
Oldest Preserved Locomotive
Fairy Queen (1855), still in working order
Oldest Station
Mumbai Chhatrapati Shivaji Terminus (CST)
Highest railway station
Ghoom (Darjeeling Himalayan Railway )
Railway Station with all the Three Gauges
Siliguri Railway Station (West Bengal)
Train with Maximum Number of Halts
Howrah-Amritsar Express (115 halts)
Northernmost railway station
Baramulla in Jammu and Kashmir
East most railway station
Ledo in branch line ( Tinsukia)
Southernmost railway station
Kanyakumari in Tamil Nadu
Western most station
Naliya near Bhuj in Gujarat
Largest railway complex in India
Howrah Railway Station (West Bengal)

Facts About Railway Tracks

According to distance between the Railways Lines, there are three systems operating in the Country.
  • Broad Gauge – Distance 1.67m
  • Meter Gauge – Distance 1.00m
  • Narrow Gauge – Distance 0.762 or 0.610 m

Railway Manufacturing Units
  • Chittaranjan Locomotive Works (CLW) – It is situated in Chittaranjan (W.B). It manufactures electric engines.
  • Diesel Locomotive Works (DLW) – It is Situated at Varanasi and Manufactures Diesel Engines.
  • Integral Coach Factory – Situated at Perambur (Chennai) and manufactures Rail Coaches.
  • Wheel and Axel Plant – Situated at Yalahka (Bangalore) and manufactures wheel and axels.
  • Diesel Component Works – Situated at Patiala(Punjab) and manufactures components of diesel engines.
  • Rail Coach Factory – Situated at Kapurthala (Punjab) and manufactures Railway Coaches.
  • Konkan Rail Project (Konkan Railway) – This is the joint venture of the government of Maharashtra, Goa and Karnataka and Kerala. Under this Project a Railway Lines joining Mumbai and Mangalore(Karnataka) has been laid down.

Railway Zones

For better administrative control of Indian Railway, The whole railway network of the country has been divided into 17 Railway Zones and 70 Divisions.  The Divisional Headquarter is controlled by Divisional Railway Manager(DRM).

Railway Zones
Central Railway
East Central Railway
East Coast Railway
Eastern Railway
North Central Railway
North Eastern Railway
North Western Railway
Northeast Frontier Railway
Northern Railway
South Central Railway
South East Central Railway
South Eastern Railway
South Western Railway
Southern Railway
West Central Railway
Western Railway
Kolkata Metro Railway
Join Your Competitor in FB Groups
Join Your Competitor in Telegram Groups
Study Materials and Important Notifications
Latest Govt. Schemes Monthly PDF Download
Newsletters Form

  • Comments
  • Google+
  • Disqus